Announcement from The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense without regard to age or nationality.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2010 is Eric N. Jacobsen, Professor, Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology, Harvard University, U. S. A.

Professor Jacobsen has made many important contributions to the field of asymmetric catalysis. He discovered useful, chiral salen-based catalysts

for asymmetric epoxidation of simple olefins, as well as effective new catalysts for aziridnation, Diels-Alder, conjugate addition, hydrocyanation, and epoxide ring-opening reactions. He also pioneered the use of hydrogen-bonding catalysts in asymmetric synthesis. These



methodologies, together with the mechanistic insights he has uncovered about them, have had a profound impact both in academia and in industry.

The past recipients:

Henri B. Kagan (2002) Gilbert Stork (2003) Dieter Seebach (2004) Tsutomu Katsuki (2005) David A. Evans (2006) Tamio Hayashi (2007) Andreas Pfaltz (2008) Yoshio Okamoto(2009)

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2010:

Keisuke Suzuki (chairman)

David A. Evans Tamio Hayashi Tamejiro Hiyama Tsuneo Imamoto Henri B. Kagan E. Peter Kündig

Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2011

(Deadline May 1, 2011)

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2011 by May 1, 2011.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at http://www.ssocj.jp/indexenglish.html. The documents submitted are retained on file for three award years.

Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail attachment of the form.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional mail is also acceptable.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan

Tel: +81-3-3292-7621 Fax: +81-3-3292-7622

Website: http://www.ssocj.jp/



Nissay Aroma Square 17th Floor 37-1 Kamata 5-Chome, Ohta-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan

Tel: +81-3-5744-0511 Fax: +81-3-5744-0512

Website: http://www.takasago.com